The thing called cancer (no.1)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My grandmother’s sister died from cancer.

Their father died from cancer.

Both my grandfathers died from cancer.

I was tested for cancer when I was 20 years old (and I was ok).

Now, my mother has cancer.

The phrase the doctor said to me almost 8 years ago, “You’re fine, there’s nothing wrong”, is still the most important thing anyone has ever told me.

But my mother being sick is a different story. My worst fear is losing her (it won’t happen any time soon, luckily her case is treatable and very positive results are expected from the therapies she’s already doing), but still, moments like these give you plenty food for thought.

And now we fight.

Leave a Reply

