Living with OCD (no.3)

OCD is about anxiety. OCD makes you feel uncomfortable, almost all the time. 
But there comes a time, or at least it came for me, that you have to make peace with it.  It’s always better living with a friend than with an enemy.  

That time came for me after a trigger. At that point I decided to work together with my OCD.  In a kind of collaboration.  

The trigger that was followed  by this idea was a taxi that didn’t pass my “OCD test” (well,  you can’t  live in a totally clean big city after all…!). Instead of freaking out, I managed to stay calm (my pills help a lot in this),  not having a anxiety attack. Then I decided to open my sketchbook and start drawing trigger-inspired pieces,  with shapes that reminded me of stains. By the way I hate stains, even as a word. 

The experiment worked really nice and I’m  still working with it. It helps me get more comfortable with dirt,  stains and triggers, and prove to myself  that I can create some kind of friendship with my anxiety disorder. 

Leave a Reply

