The thing about birthdays

I was born at 12:10 p.m., one Thursday noon, the second of February, back in 1989.

And I love the idea of birthdays!

It’s my special day. It’s a celebration of my life, and of life in general, if you think that we start from invisible to the eye and we end up being 29, and 32, and 40, etc, etc. The magic of life!

Maybe it’s because my mama always planned big parties for me when I was little, so my brain has happy memories to go to for this day.

As long as I can remember myself, I start thinking about my birthday on December, thinking how I would like to celebrate this year, and picking up gifts, and trinkets, and doing a little brainstorming about what has been and what is coming.

This year, at first I thought of having a big celebration, but then I decided to keep it simple. Do a cool day, maybe working a little bit withmy art, and then going shopping and eating with a friend. Simple, nice and satisfying! Oh, and I have kept a couple of gifts to open them birthday morning (an alternative Christmas day gift opening you could say!).

My all time classic favorite birthday song? “It’s my party” by Leslie Gore! No so much about the lyrics, but I like the melody and the vintage scent that it has!

P.S. Yesterday, before going to sleep, I was just watching my 2 and 9 shaped birthday candles and I was thinking “oh, my how quickly time goes by…!”.

Cheers to the last 20s and many more good years! 🎉

Leave a comment